Dystopian Prize Winner Announced

Winner of The Orwell Society 2018 student dystopian fiction prize announced

Congratulations to Kathryn Peck, of City University’s Creative Writing and Publishing MA, winner of this year’s competition.

Ms Peck has been congratulated via social media by last year’s winner Maja Olsen.

[Full details to follow. March 23rd 2018]



Winner of The Orwell Society 2017 student dystopian fiction prize announced


Maja Emilie Veflen Olsen, a student on the Creative Writing and Publishing MA at City University, London, has won this year’s Dystopian Fiction Prize, organised by The Orwell Society. Her story, ‘The No Child Policy’, was commended by the judges for being a highly accomplished piece of writing which slowly builds to a horrific and unexpected ending. It remains a disturbing presence in the mind long after it has been read.

The judges in the competition – open to all BA and MA students in Britain – were Richard Blair, son of George Orwell and Patron of the Orwell Society (OS), Dr Luke Seaber, of University College London, Dr Julie Wheelwright, of City, University of London, and Professor Richard Lance Keeble, OS Chair.

The prize of £500 comes with a trophy which is a bust of Orwell. They will be handed over by Richard Blair at the Society’s AGM in London on 22 April.


Runner- up was Nicola Rossi, of the Digital Media MA at Goldsmiths College, University of London. Her story ‘One Last Gift’ was judged to be highly original, macabre and very funny.

Other students commended were Amanda Fuller, of the University of Westminster’s Creative Writing MA, Robin Mortimer, of Anglia Ruskin University’s Creative Writing MA, Michael W. Thomas, of the Open University’s Open BA, Bradley Byington, of the University of Salford’s Drama and Creative Writing programme, Jane Buffham, of the University of Winchester’s Creative and Critical Writing MA, Anthony Trew, of Anglia Ruskin University’s Creative Writing MA, Nicholas Owen, of City, University of London’s Creative Writing and Publishing MA, Michael Charles, of Goldsmiths’ English BA, Joseph Steele, of Goldsmiths’ Masters of Fine Arts, and Joseph Williams, of Goldsmith’s’ English BA.

The judges praised the overall high standard of the entries.


Last updated: 17 March 2017

23 March 2018

2 thoughts on “Dystopian Prize Winner Announced

  1. I think the fiction prize is a great idea and I look forward to reading the winning entry in the Society journal. I did want to suggest a second and third place monetary prize as well…so few places will pay for stories here in the States and I would guess same for the UK. Also would an anthology of winning and worthy stories from the competition be possible?


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s