The 2013 Orwell Prize winners

A Very British Killing (cover)

A. T. Williams has won the 2013 Orwell Book Prize, along with Andrew Norfolk of  The Times and Tom Bergin of Reuters sharing the award for journalism.  The Special Prize was awarded to Marie Colvin for her book On the Front Line.

The ceremony, which celebrated its 20th year this year, took place on Wednesday 15th May 2013 at Church House, Westminster, where the The Prize is sponsored and supported by the Media Standards TrustPolitical QuarterlyAM Heath and our very own Richard Blair.

This year’s Journalism Prize judges were Jo Glanville (Director of English PEN), Nicholas Timmins (former Public Policy Editor of the Financial Times) and Chris Mullin (author, journalist and former MP).

There were seven books on the Orwell Prize Book shortlist this year from 210 entries:

Carmen Bugan Burying the Typewriter (Picador)
Marie Colvin On the Front Line (HarperPress)
Richard Holloway Leaving Alexandria (Canongate Books)
Pankaj Mishra From the Ruins of the Empire (Allen Lane)
Raja Shehadeh Occupation Diaries (Profile Books)
Clive Stafford Smith Injustice (Harvill Secker)
A. T. Williams A Very British Killing (Jonathan Cape)

There were six journalists on the Orwell Prize for Journalism shortlist this year, from a record number of 155 journalism entries:

Jamil Anderlini Financial Times
Tom Bergin Reuters
Ian Cobain Guardian
Andrew Norfolk The Times
Christina Patterson The Independent
Kim Sengupta The Independent

For more information please visit the Orwell Prize website. They also run regular Orwell updates on Facebook.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s